April 25, 2013
The Virginia state legislature recently adopted stricter policies to combat distracted driving. But many feel that loopholes in the law will keep the new regulations from making an impact on the problem of Virginia Car Accidents caused by the behavior.
Currently, law states that texting and driving is a primary offense punishable by fines ranging from $125 to $250. Experts say, though, that distracted driving is caused by more than just texting. They point out that motorists are still allowed to make phone calls and use GPS devices to navigate. This means if a driver is caught using a phone, they could state they were making a call or entering an address to avoid punishment.
The loopholes leave many wondering what can be done to make the laws more enforceable. An article from The Washington Post explained how Maryland recently re-wrote its laws to allow law enforcement to stop any driver caught with a phone in their hand. More locally, though, Fairfax County officials have been utilizing an older law requiring motorists to “pay full time and attention” to their driving.
The Roanoke Personal Injury Attorneys with Skolrood Law Firm know the dangers of distracted driving. That’s why the firm asks that motorists each do their part to keep Virginia’s roadways safe by putting their phones down when driving regardless of the law.