July 11, 2013
In an effort to reduce the number of Virginia Motor Vehicle Accidents, state lawmakers approved several highway safety laws that took effect on July 1.
One of the major changes applies to the state’s texting and driving ban. The old law made texting and driving a secondary offense, meaning a motorist had to commit another infraction before they could be stopped and cited for distracted driving. Now, law enforcement will be able to ticket any driver they catch engaging in the behavior.
An article from The Roanoke Times went on to explain how changes were also made to laws governing the passengers young and inexperienced drivers can have in their vehicles. The law now states provisional license holders who are younger than 18 years old can only have up to three passengers younger than 21 years of age in the car with them only if they are traveling to a school-sponsored event or if a passenger over the age of 21 years old is riding in the front seat.
Another major change will affect moped riders who will now be required to title and register their mopeds. They will also be required to carry some form of identification when riding.
The Roanoke Personal Injury Lawyers with Skolrood Law Firm applaud the changes and hope they are effective in keeping motorists safer on Virginia’s highways.