Feb. 7, 2013
Motorists in Virginia who text and drive will soon receive stiff punishment if caught in the act by law enforcement. According to an article published in a recent issue of The News & Advance, state legislators announced on Wednesday that a bill making it a primary offense to text and drive is currently in the process of approval.
The new law means it will be easier for an officer to pull offending motorists over and the fines will be much stiffer. Current laws against texting a driving make it a secondary offense. This means that law enforcement must pull you over for another reason in order to write a ticket. If caught, the violation is currently punishable by a $25 fine. The new law states officers will be able to pull over drivers for texting and driving, and citations can range from $250 to $500 per infraction.
The new law’s sponsors say the need for tougher texting and driving laws was highlighted by a recent case where a motorist from Fairfax County sent and received seven text messages in the ten minutes leading up to a Virginia Car Accident that claimed the life of a teen. The current texting and driving law prevented the motorist from being charged with a more serious offense.
The Roanoke Personal Injury Lawyers with Skolrood Law Firm applaud the efforts of lawmakers who are working to make the state’s roads safer for all who use them!